Skip to main content

Writing the Dissertation or Research Project: APA Style

Databases

Caution: It is not recommend for students to copy and paste citations generated in the research databases. There will be links in the databases for Citation Tools, Cite, or Cite Book. These are meant as loose guides only, and should not be directly copied and pasted into assignments (as this is computer generated and can be incorrect). Please review the provided citation examples and materials from the Success Center as guides to build APA citations.
For more information about APA Style, please connect with the CSU Success Center by email at teamsucceed@columbiasouthern.edu or by phone at 1.877.875.0533

Introduction & Overview

American Psychological Association (APA) Style Website 

The official APA website contains a wide variety of support materials for using this style in your writing process. What’s New in the Sixth Edition: Learn about changes to style between Fifth and Sixth Editions. The full edition of the Style guide is not free, but the support documents are freely accessible.

The Basics of Style shows users how to do the following:

  • structure and format their work
  • reduce bias in language
  • avoid charges of plagiarism
  • cite references in text
  • select reference examples
CSU APA Resources
  • CSU Citation Guide (PDF) - This handout is based on the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association (APA) but is not a complete guide. For all rules and requirements of APA, please refer to the 6th edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, which is available for purchase from the APA Style website. Should you have any questions, please contact the CSU Success Center by email at teamsucceed@columbiasouthern.edu or by phone at 1.877.875.0533.
APA Style Blog

The APA Style Blog is a great resource for citation information created by the APA experts. Information at the site covers the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, Sixth Edition.

Success Center Webinars and Tutorials

Have questions on writing and citation creation? For more information, please click on a tutorial below presented by the CSU Success Center:

Examples

Individual References

*Note - It is CSU's policy when citing an article from a database to use the name of the database after the words Retrieved from instead of using a permalink or a DOI. Example: Retrieved from Academic OneFile database.