Skip to Main Content

Occupational Safety & Health (Graduate): Find Articles

Suggested Databases

Start here!

Discovery Search

Located on the library homepage, the Discovery Search box searches most of the library databases at once, including many of those which are useful for occupational safety and health research.

ABI/INFORM Collection

ABI/INFORM Collection's massive content set includes scholarly/peer-reviewed full-text  journals as well as key trade publications and news sources related to occupational safety and health topics.

ScienceDirect Physical Sciences and Engineering

From foundational science to new and novel research, discover the large collection of Physical Sciences and Engineering publications, covering a range of disciplines (including topics related to workplace safety), from the theoretical to the applied.

‚ÄčFor a complete list of databases and their descriptions, click the Databases link located on the CSU Library homepage.

Recommended Occupational Safety & Health Journals

Search the following individual journals to receive more focused search results for articles related to occupational safety & health:

Peer-Reviewed Journals

Trade Journals  

Please contact a librarian if you need assistance accessing these journals.

What are peer-reviewed articles?

Peer-reviewed articles, sometimes called scholarly or academic articles, are research studies or critical overviews of industry topics that are written by subject experts and reviewed by other experts in the field before publication in order to ensure the articles' quality.

Written by scholars + reviewed by scholars = peer-reviewed.

See this guide for more information about identifying peer-reviewed articles and how to find them in the CSU Library.

Useful Databases for Occupational Safety & Health Research

ABI/INFORM Collection

Topics Covered:  safety management, federal regulation, regulatory agencies, ergonomics, fines & penalties, occupational hazards, compliance, hazardous substances, and personal protective equipment

Academic OneFile

Topics Covered:  safety regulations, OSHA, workplace accidents, construction industry, work-related injuries, safety consultants, ergonomics, work environment, occupational exposure, risk management

Academic Search Ultimate

Topics Covered:  safety measures, risk factors, industrial safety, industrial hygiene, work environment, work-related injuries, accident prevention, occupational diseases, construction industry, occupational hazards

Business Continuity & Disaster Recovery Reference Center

Topics Covered:  safety regulations, safety measures, accidents, public health, factory inspection, safety engineers, health risk assessment, fire prevention, hazard mitigation, judgments (law), risk perception, disaster relief, environmental risk

Business Source Ultimate

Topics Covered:  safety regulations, law & legislation, safety measures, accidents, public health, factory inspection, safety engineers, health risk assessment, asbestos, medical policy, fire prevention, hazard mitigation, judgments, risk perception, disaster relief, environmental risk management, equipment and supplies

General OneFile

Topics Covered:  workplace accidents, work environments, risk management, government agencies, occupational health services, job stress, compensation management, employer liability, disability insurance, occupational diseases, safety education, safety regulations

PsycARTICLES

Topics Covered:  occupational health, occupational safety, occupational stress, stress, health behavior

ScienceDirect Physical Sciences and Engineering

Topics Covered:  ergonomics, fire protection, workplace safety, toxicology

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

What is the best way to search the library databases?

The best way to search the library databases is to try out different combinations of key words/short phrases.  Phrase searching is one technique you can use to refine your search.  To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses.  This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit instead of a string of keywords.

Example:

"safety management"

(safety management)

Publication Finder

In order to search for specific journals or other publications in the library, use the Publication Finder. Look for the Publications link under "Research Tools" in the left column.