Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech & Communication: Videos

Attention Students:

Below you will see examples of videos available in the library's Films on Demand database, but you will need to explore further to find videos on your chosen topic.

Films on Demand

Films on Demand houses a collection of streaming video titles from both academic and mainstream producers such as Films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History Channel, BBC, National Geographic, and others. Ranging in length from short clips to feature-length documentaries, this collection offers something for researchers in most academic programs and disciplines.

4 Communication Skills Everyone Needs 

With increasing complexity in the workplace, effective communication skills are key. This program outlines the four key communication skills needed: lean communication (getting straight to the point), connecting with others (social skills), adaptability (learning to read and relate to different types of people) and texting and using social media professionally (understanding the importance of sensitive, respectful and polite messaging).

Difficult Presentations Made Easy 

People are often fearful of making presentations but many times find they are unavoidable, whether in a sales context or training session or when reporting on a project. This video explores some of the big issues that may cause difficulties and how we can handle them. Topics covered include anxiety and fear, the boredom factor, unexpected disasters, and challenging people. 

Business Communication Series 

This series covers business communication as it relates to skills in listening, speaking, writing, and reading. 

Public Speaking 

This series covers public speaking skills and basics related to research, multimedia, visual aids, informative and persuasive speeches, impromptu speeches, and more. 

5 Essentials for Powerful Presentations 

Presentations can be dull for audiences. People feel nervous when presenting, which can come out as a lack of focus or rambling on unneccessarily. This program covers five essential areas for powerful presentations. These include memorable ways to commence, managing anxiety, being succinct and sign-posting information, maintaining audience engagement, relaxed body language, telling a story, and finishing with a bang.

Communication Essentials

This series covers communication skills such as listening, speaking, writing, and reading. 

Public Speaking; Principles of Public Speaking 

This series covers public speaking skills related to audience and listening, delivery, and the planning process. 

Presentations: When Am I Ever Going to Use This? 

In this video, students will learn important skills for utilizing Microsoft Power Point. Watch to learn about the tools available to make a well-rounded presentation. Interviews from professionals and students show the real-world benefits of a polished presentation that will help both in school and later in a career.

Body Language for Presentations 

When giving a presentation, it is important to observe the audience and make adjustments to keep them engaged.