Skip to Main Content

Instructional Design and Technology: Find Web Resources

Evaluating Sources for Credibility

Domain Names

The domain of a website (the postscript at the end of a web address) can be a good indicator of the the website's authority and accuracy.

  • .com Commercial Site
  • .gov Government Agency
  • .edu Higher Education
  • .org Organization. May be charitable, religious, or a lobbying group.
  • .mil Military
  • .net Internet Service Provider

Professional Organizations

The Guiding Principles reflect the core values of the American Evaluation Association (AEA) and are intended as a guide to the professional ethical conduct of evaluators.

Professional association of thousands of educators and others whose activities are directed toward improving instruction through technology.

Professional membership organization supporting those who develop the knowledge and skills of employees in organizations around the world.

International, not-for-profit, educational organization with the mission of advancing Information Technology in Education and E-Learning research, development, learning, and its practical application.

Mission is to strengthen the capacity to act and undertake designers and instructional designers by promoting their development and promoting the profession in the different environments in which it is exercised.

Mission is to provide exceptional leadership and professional development in higher education to its network of eLearning practitioners by advocating, collaborating, researching, and sharing exemplary, innovative practices and potential in educational technologies.

Suggest Web Resources

Encourage collaborations, facilitate interoperability, and promote best practices for using distributed learning to provide the highest-quality education, training, informal learning, and just-in-time support; tailored to individual needs and delivered cost-effectively, anytime and anywhere, in order to increase readiness, save resources, and facilitate interorganizational collaboration.

Includes a print-only self-assessment tool to encourage evaluators to systematically reflect on and inquire about their own capacity to conduct high-quality program evaluations.

Intergovernmental organization that promotes the development and sharing of open learning and distance education knowledge, resources and technologies.

eLearning analyst, consultant and adviser Craig Weiss provides up-to-date articles on the eLearning field.

Nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology.

Instructional Designer and eLearning Specialist Connie Malamed site provides excellent resources on subjects like storyboarding, testing and UI/UX.

Produces conferences, online events, online and blended training courses, eBooks, white papers, research reports, and Learning Solutions Magazine.

Collection of eLearning articles, eLearning concepts, eLearning software, and eLearning resources.

Organized into six frames, each consisting of a concept central to information literacy, a set of knowledge practices, and a set of dispositions.

Provides the higher education community with a centralized repository of information and resources for compliance with federal laws and regulations.

Mission is to create support systems that empower teachers to redesign learning, making it more relevant to students today, and creating a flexible, optimized environment, paving the pathway to student success in the 21st century.

Curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

Provides a blueprint for creating instructional goals, methods, materials, and assessments that work for everyone--not a single, one-size-fits-all solution but rather flexible approaches that can be customized and adjusted for individual needs.

Section from "Instructional System Design: The ADDIE Model: A Handbook for Learning Designers."

Dynamic consortial curricular project to create a common curriculum based on characteristics of the ACRL Framework for Information Literacy (and related) standards.

Department of Education division that develops national educational technology policy and advocates for the transition from print-based to digital learning.

Professional organization devoted to advancing quality online learning by providing professional development, instruction, best practice publications and guidance to educators, online learning professionals and organizations around the world.