Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Emergency Services Management: U. S. Government Resources

U. S. Government Resources

The ATSDR registry contains detailed toxicological profiles of hazardous materials with information on health effects, chemical structure, exposure pathways, minimum risk levels, and a FAQ page for each substance. Also contains guidance on managing hazardous materials incidents (MHMI series) and medical management guidelines for acute chemical exposures (MMGs).

The CDC Emergency Preparedness and Response website is designed to act as primary information source for preparing and responding to public health emergencies of all types. It contains topic articles on specific hazards, preparedness information and advice, and information for first responders and other disaster response professionals, all of which can be searched by either keyword or an A-Z index.

Sponsored by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, this well-organized research portal provides links to health information resources on the web related to disaster preparedness, response, and recovery.

Created by the Department of Homeland Security & Technology Directorate, this site encourages profession networking, collaboration, and communication; its resources focus on emergency preparedness, response, recovery, and other homeland security issues.

A division of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention, NIOSH provides national and world leadership to prevent workplace illnesses and injuries. Explore the many links on the homepage for information on a variety of topics, including emergency preparedness.

Search this database fr all NIOSH-supported research publications and products published by NIOSH or elsewhere, including journal articles.

With the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)* to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance. Link to the full text of the OSH Act, access Data & Statistics on Workplace Illness and Injury, under the Publications tab  download a broad range of open access PDFs on OSHA topics and link to the OSHA newsletter.

A subset of the Disaster Information Management Research Center, this database is a search tool for locating freely available online resources related to disaster medicine and public health. Resources include guidelines, factsheets, websites, research reports, articles, training materials, and more.

The FEMA gateway page links to articles, news, graphics, photos, tables, maps, statistics, and other information about all types of disasters, disaster preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation.

Select Data Publications & Library from the menu. Then Located under the Library tab is an array of resources, including special collections.

The USGS Natural Hazards Mission Area website contains USGS technical and strategic reports on coastal and marine geology, earthquake hazards, geomagnetism, the global seismographic network, landslide and volcano hazards, floods, droughts, wildfire, hazard response, and risk reduction.