Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

General Studies: Web Resources

How Do I Evaluate Websites for Credibility?

How do I evaluate websites for credibility?

Use this checklist to help you evaluate websites for credibility as research sources.

Evaluating Sources for Credibility

Resource Types

Web Resources

Browse millions of items from libraries, archives and museums through one portal.

The aim of the Directory is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

The Internet Archive is a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Provides free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public. 

A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly for educational use. Scroll down for sections on major periods in history.

With a library of over 4000 videos this site covers K-12 math, science topics such as biology, chemistry, and physics, and even the humanities with playlists on finance and history. 

Library of Congress page with useful links for finding, citing and understanding copyright with regards to primary sources. 

Open Humanities Press is an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide.All OHP publications are fully and rigorously peer reviewed.

Scientific Research Publishing (SCIRP) is one of the largest Open Access journal publishers. It is currently publishing more than 200 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals covering a wide range of academic disciplines.

SSOAR collects electronic full texts from the domain of the Social Sciences and makes these texts available according to the Berlin Declaration on Open Access to Scientific Knowledge.

Domain Names

The domain of a website (the postscript at the end of a web address) can be a good indicator of the the website's authority and accuracy.

  • .com Commercial Site
  • .gov Government Agency
  • .edu Higher Education
  • .org Organization. May be charitable, religious, or a lobbying group.
  • .mil Military
  • .net Internet Service Provider
As you conduct your research, you may find external website sources providing additional information, research or commentary. As with any external source, please fully evaluate and verify against assignment resource parameters. If you have questions on selection of a resource, please feel free to connect with the course professor for review.

E-books

E-book Directories

View lists of books in the public domain without copyright restrictions. 

Publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics.

Contains over 30,000 scanned E-Books with no copyright licenses.