The IBISWorld database provides thoroughly researched, accurate, and current industry reports.
Mergent Online offers detailed company information, including financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries, officers, and directors.
The Nexis Uni database contains detailed business profiles for many U. S. and international companies. To search for a company profile in Nexis Uni, click on "Business" beneath "Discover topics" at the bottom on the search screen, then click on "Find a Company" in the "Company Dossier" section.
Business Source Ultimate contains company profiles for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies. Click on "Company Information" at the top of the Business Source Ultimate search screen to search for a company.
The video below provides a step-by-step guide on how to quickly analyze specific companies and their competitors. It also provides guidance on how to efficiently research an industry and its overall health.
You can find SWOT analyses in the following databases:
Search for your company and SWOT
Click on "Companies," then "SWOT Reports" and search for your company name in the results
Under Discover topics, click on "Business" and then "Find a Company" in the Company Dossier. Search for your company by name, then click on "Industry Knowledge" and "Company SWOT Analysis" in the left column
A PEST analysis is a method by which a company can assess major external factors (political, economic, social, and technological) that influence its operation and market competitiveness.
You can find information to conduct a PEST analysis within country reports available in the following sources
Search for the country name and "country profile." Then change the date to the last five years using the "Published Date" filter on the right on the main search screen or the "Publication Date" filter in the left column of your search results.
Yes, you can search by NAICS Code in most of the library's business databases.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) can be used in industry research as it is "the standard used by Federal statistics agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical database related to the U.S. Business Economy."* The NAICS replaced the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC).
To identify industry codes to use in your searches, visit the Industry Statistics Portal.