Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice Web Resources

Criminal Justice Web Resources

Produced by and for law enforcement, "the primary purpose of the BACJ is to bring relevant discussion on current issues to working law enforcement professionals."  This publication presents current research on topics that may be applied to issues faced in local law enforcement agencies.

Created by retired LAPD Lieutenant Raymond Foster, this website includes a link to download the "YouTube for the Criminal Justice Educator Guide." This comprehensive guide contains links to hundreds of videos organized into 19 categories.

This site is commercial, but its link goes to the legal professional site. It is a good place to start for all things legal. Start here to search the various U. S .Courts of Appeals and research its written case law by party name or court or practice area. There are also links to Cases and Codes such as the Federal Register, US Code, and US Constitution. State law resources and links to state-specific laws are searchable across dozens of popular legal topics.  The site includes user-friendly summaries of laws as well as citations and links to relevant sections of official online statutes and state codes. You can browse your state law collection by state or by legal topic or visit the official online version of your state's laws. 

This resource provides books, journals, articles, and other pertinent materials made available by publishers that are relevant to the criminal justice profession. Scroll down for links to sites and articles of interest.

NCSTL.org is a forensic research database which includes thousands of resources about forensic science & technology, the law of scientific evidence & expert witnesses, and more.

This site is a resource for crime and justice data.

The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics has six sections covering characteristics of the criminal justice systems, public opinion, distribution of known offenses, characteristics of persons arrested, processing of defendants and persons under correctional supervision. As a result of the data collection process, the Sourcebook is current to 2 years behind the current year.