Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Learning Strategies for Success: Find Articles


The librarians assist with: Selecting databases • Creating searches • Finding scholarly & peer-reviewed articles • Locating ebooks • Narrowing search results • Using program research guides

Find Articles: Video Tutorials

Keyword Searching

Phrase Searching

What's the best way to search the library databases?

The best way to search the library databases is to try out different combinations of key words/short phrases.  Phrase searching is one technique you can use to refine your search.  To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses.  This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit instead of a string of keywords.

For example:

"business management"

(business management)

Interdisciplinary Databases

The CSU Library features a collection of interdisciplinary databases that can assist with a variety of research topics. Below are some database options to explore.

Academic Search Ultimate

Full text publications of interest include:

  • British Journal of Guidance and Counseling
  • Career Development Quarterly
  • Chronicle of Higher Education
  • College Student Journal
  • Earth Interactions 
  • Education Week
  • Educational Leadership
  • Educational Philosophy and Theory
  • Journal of American History
  • Motivation and Emotion
  • Techniques: Connecting Education and Careers 
  • Training and Development Journal

ACADEMIC ONEFILE

 Full text publications of interest include:

  • The Chronicle of Higher Education
  • Mind, Mood and Memory
  • Nature 
  • New York Times 
  • Quarterly Journal of Military History
  • School Arts
  • T H E Journal (Technological Horizons in Education)

GENERAL ONEFILE

 Full text publications of interest include:

  • College Student Journal
  • Diverse Issues in Higher Education
  • Journal of the International Academy for Case Studies
  • School Library Journal

Accessing Databases

Accessing the databases listed on this guide require you to first be logged in to the myCSU.

  • Ensure that you are logged in to myCSU
  • Click on the desired database link, which should immediately direct you to the database interface.
  • If you have any questions, contact us 24 hours per day through our live Chat Service

Additional Resources

For business and safety topics, you can also explore the ABI/INFORM Complete or Business Source Ultimate databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection

 Full text publications of interest include:

  • The Business Journal
  • Business Wire
  • The Economist
  • Education and Training
  • Financial Times
  • TCA Regional News
  • Professional Services Close-Up
  • Wall Street Journal  

Business Source Ultimate

Full text publications of interest include:

  • Business Communication Quarterly
  • Career Development Quarterly
  • Issues in Accounting Education
  • Journal of Education for Business
  • Journal of Economic Education

Tech Tips

Having trouble accessing library resources? Refer to the Tech Tips document or contact CSU HelpDesk Support at 877-399-1063 or via chat in your myCSU Student Portal.