Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Sources for Credibility
The domain of a website (the postscript at the end of a web address) can be a good indicator of the the website's authority and accuracy.
- .com Commercial Site
- .gov Government Agency
- .edu Higher Education
- .org Organization. May be charitable, religious, or a lobbying group.
- .mil Military
- .net Internet Service Provider
As you conduct your research, you may find external website sources providing additional information, research or commentary. As with any external source, please fully evaluate and verify against assignment resource parameters. If you have questions on selection of a resource, please feel free to connect with the course professor for review.
Information presented on American History by the Library of Congress.
American Historical Association
A professional organization aimed at the promotion of history.
The British Broadcasting Channel (BBC) provides news coverage and feature pieces on stories impacting the world.
Biography.com is a compilation of history stories about well known individuals in society.
Digital Public Library of America
Browse millions of items from libraries, archives and museums through one portal.
Library of Congress Newspaper Collection
Library of Congress' newspaper collection that spans between 1900-1999
Provides a wealth of access to resources on historical information connecting to American's national parks.
National Park Service
The National Park Service provides historical information connecting to America's national parks.
An interactive archive reviewing the Jamestown settlement.