National Emergency Training Center Library
The National Emergency Training Center Library provides news and resources on fire and emergency management topics. The library portal linked above offers access to multiple collections of online fire-related information, including:
Internet resources available through the Library catalog
Online or downloadable first responder dissertations and theses
Online materials from the Fire Prevention and Public Education Exchange
E-books for current EFO students
Additional NSFA data and publications
U.S. fire statistics
NFIRS
USFA online publications
National Fire Department Registry
To use the NETC Library catalog, select the Advanced Search option and set "Limit by Item type" menu to "Internet Resource."
The U.S. Government's one-stop source for air quality data on a local, state, national, and world scope, boasting an interactive map, air quality reports, current forecasts, fire condition monitoring, and more.
The official government website to provide disaster assistance and information in relation to national disasters such as fires, earthquakes, floods, and other threats.
This interactive national map shows current fire conditions including fire locations, smoke plumes, and air quality data. This map and other connected resources are maintained by AirNow which is a partnership between the EPA, NOAA, NPS, NASA, CDC, and tribal, state, and local air quality agencies.
This U.S. Forest Service site includes news and authoritative information on numerous topics related to wildland fire. Back issues of Fire Management Today, the journal published by USFS Fire & Aviation Management, are available online by volume number and authors’ names.
This collection of resources provided by the NIST Engineering Laboratory includes links to fire tests and the resulting data from those tests, open-access software and fire modeling applications, the EL Research Information Service, and portals to online publications from NIST and the Building and Fire Research Laboratory.
FRAMES provides documents, data tools, and other information resources related to wildland fires.
NIOSH offers a National Firefighter Registry to track and reduce the risk of cancer among U.S. firefighters.
This NIOSH program provides reports on investigations of fire fighter line-of-duty deaths.
This government resource provides current, historical and year-end fire statistics.
Here you can explore over 1,000 Executive Fire Officer Program (EFO) applied research projects that received a grade of 4.0 from 1989-present.
The Fire.Gov section of the NIST website includes fire service news as well as research information on a variety of fire science topics. Articles are available as PDF documents. A limited number of downloadable videos or presentations is also provided at the site.
With the Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1970, Congress created the Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) to assure safe and healthful working conditions for working men and women by setting and enforcing standards and by providing training, outreach, education and assistance. Fire Safety is an integral part of OSHA's efforts to ensure workplace safety. Search the OSHA website for "fire safety" or navigate to https://www.osha.gov/SLTC/firesafety/index.html to view the webpage for "Safety and Health Topics/Fire Safety."
A part of FEMA, the USFA’s mission is “to provide national leadership to foster a solid foundation for our fire and emergency services stakeholders in prevention, preparedness, and response.” The USFA’s site includes links to webinars, outreach materials, statistics, as well as a variety of other resources.