The best way to search the library databases is to try out different combinations of key words/short phrases. Phrase searching is one technique you can use to refine your search. To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses. This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit instead of a string of keywords.
Use these databases to find court briefs and legal publications.
LegalTrac is an ideal resource for legal researchers. It features a comprehensive collection of major legal publications and indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers, specialty publications, Bar Association journals, and international legal journals, with many of those titels in full-text format.
Nexis Uni offers a wide range of information for legal research, including news content, federal and state cases and statutes, U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and business profiles for many U.S. and international companies.
The databases listed below are good starting points for finding articles on business-related topics.
For a complete list of databases, click the databases box located on the CSU Library homepage.
Peer-reviewed articles, sometimes called scholarly or academic articles, are research studies or critical overviews of industry topics that are written by subject experts and reviewed by other experts in the field before publication in order to ensure the articles' quality.
See this guide for more information about identifying peer-reviewed articles and how to find them in the CSU Library.
Business Insights: Global provides extensive information on companies, industries, and countries worldwide, including market research reports, SWOT analyses, and other types of business research and analysis.
IBISWorld furnishes users with Market Research and Emerging Industry reports as well as its Business Environment profiles and Global Industry reports.
Mergent Online offers detailed information regarding company financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries, officers, and directors.
*Watch Company and Industry Research for further assistance.
For current news, search the Nexis Uni database for newspaper articles on topics of interest.
Check out the News database for news, radio, and television broadcasts from the U.S. and around the world.
Review Regional Business News for news and other types of publications, including news transcripts.
You may also use the Publication Finder under E-Journals on the library homepage to search for specific newspaper titles such as The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times.