Skip to main content

Public Health: Find Articles

A research guide on the subject of public health.

What's the best way to search the library databases?

The best way to search the library databases is to try out different combinations of key words/short phrases.  Phrase searching is one technique you can use to refine your search.  To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses.  This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit instead of a string of keywords.

For example:

"business management"

(business management)

Current News

Where can I find current news articles?

For current news, search the Nexis Uni database for newspaper articles on topics of interest.

You may also use the Publication Finder to search for specific newspaper titles such as The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times.

Where do I find articles on Health Care?

 

The databases listed below are good starting points for finding articles on public health topics. 


Health & Wellness Resource Center

Thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

Health and Medical Collection

Health and Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource that offers researchers vital clinical, biomedical, and health information from full-text scholarly journals, medical reference ebooks, videos, dissertations, and working papers. 

Health Reference Center Academic

This consumer health resource provides authoritative information on a full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices. 

Nursing and Allied Health Collection

The Nursing and Allied Health Collection offers articles related to nursing and allied health topics such as specialized care, treatment, and patient management. 

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Collection

This collection provides content from academic journals and magazines related to the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine. 

PsycARTICLES

This database provides access to scientific and scholarly peer-reviewed articles written by esteemed researchers from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences. 

Psychology Collection

This collection offers academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. 

Public Health

This database delivers public health information from journals, videos, news articles, trade publications, and reports.. 


For a complete list of databases, click the Databases link located on the CSU Library homepage.

 

What are peer-reviewed articles?

Peer-reviewed articles are written by subject experts and are reviewed by other experts in the field before publication in order to ensure the articles' quality.

See this guide for more information about identifying peer-reviewed articles and how to find them in the CSU Library.

Health Care Management

For health care research with a business or management focus, try searching in the databases listed below.


ABI/INFORM Collection

This business-focused database contains articles from over 2500 scholarly business journals and thousands of worldwide business periodicals. 

Business Source Ultimate

This business database houses the most important scholarly business journals dating back as far as 1886.