Skip to Main Content

United States Military History: Find Articles

Discovery Search

The Discovery Search box on the CSU library homepage is a great place to begin your research. This Search All box searches most of the library's databases all at once. 

Databases

These databases listed below are good starting points for history research. For a complete list of databases, click the Databases button on the CSU Library homepage.

Accessing the databases listed on this guide require you to first be logged in to the myCSU.

  • Ensure that you are logged in to myCSU
  • Click on the desired database link, which should immediately direct you to the database interface.
  • If you have any questions, contact us 24 hours per day through our live Chat Service

Example Search

1.) Use keywords or key phrases instead of long sentences or the entire assignment instructions. 

Example Assignment Prompt: Write an essay about the benefits of organic farming 

Keywords/Key Phrases:

  • "organic farming" 
  • benefits 

Note: When using key phrases, place quotation marks around the phrases to search them as an exact unit of information. 

2.) Use Boolean Operators to break up your search. 

  • AND - Limits your search (fewer results) by combining search terms 
  • OR - Expands your search (more results) by including related terms 

Find Articles: Video Tutorials

Phrase Searching

To search library databases, try different keywords/short phrases. To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses. This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit. 

Example:

"Civil War" or "American Militia"

(Civil War) or (American Militia)

Developing Keywords for Database Searches