Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MSL 5200 Crisis Communication Management: Find Articles

A research guide for the course MSL 5200, Crisis Communication Management

What is the best way to search the library databases?

The best way to search the library databases is to try out different combinations of key words/short phrases.  Phrase searching is one technique you can use to refine your search.  To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses.  This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit instead of a string of keywords.

For example:

"business management"

(business management)

Current News

Where can I find current news articles?

For current news, search the Nexis Uni database for newspaper articles on topics of interest.

Check out the News database for news, radio, and television broadcasts from the U.S. and around the world. 

Review Regional Business News for news and other types of publications, including news transcripts.

You may also use the Publication Finder under E-Journals on the library homepage to search for specific newspaper titles such as The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times.

Where do I find articles on Business topics?

 

The databases listed below are good starting points for finding articles on business-related topics. 



For a complete list of databases, click the large Databases box located on the CSU Library homepage.

What are peer-reviewed articles?

Peer-reviewed articles, sometimes called scholarly or academic articles, are research studies or critical overviews of industry topics that are written by subject experts and reviewed by other experts in the field before publication in order to ensure the articles' quality.

See this guide for more information about identifying peer-reviewed articles and how to find them in the CSU Library.

Additional Research Databases

Academic Search Ultimate

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals. 

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study. 

General OneFile

The General OneFile database provides multi-disciplinary coverage in journals, periodicals, and newspapers as well as searchable transcripts for various radio programs and video files. 

Specialized E-Journals