Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Critical Thinking: Find Articles

Finding Articles: A Quick Start Guide

Discovery Search

The Discovery Search box on the CSU library homepage is a great place to begin your research. This Search All box searches most of the library's databases all at once. 

Databases for Critical Thinking Research

For a complete list of databases, click the Databases button located on the CSU Library HomepageThe following databases are good starting points: 


Accessing the databases listed on this guide require you to first be logged into the myCSU Student Portal.

  • Ensure that you are logged into myCSU
  • Click on the desired database link, which should immediately direct you to the database interface.
  • If you have any questions, contact us 24 hours per day through our live Chat Service

Developing Keywords for Database Searches

Developing Keywords for Database Searches

Example Search

1.) Use keywords or key phrases instead of long sentences or the entire assignment instructions. 

Example Assignment Prompt: Write an essay about the benefits of organic farming 

Keywords/Key Phrases:

  • "organic farming" 
  • benefits 

Note: When using key phrases, place quotation marks around the phrases to search them as an exact unit of information. 

2.) Use Boolean Operators to break up your search. 

  • AND - Limits your search (fewer results) by combining search terms 
  • OR - Expands your search (more results) by including related terms 

Phrase Searching

To search library databases, try different keywords/short phrases. To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses. This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit. 

For example:

"workplace communication"

(workplace communication)

Find Articles: Video Tutorials

Tech Tips

Having trouble accessing library resources? Refer to the Tech Tips document or contact CSU HelpDesk Support at 877-399-1063 or via chat in your myCSU Student Portal.