Skip to main content

HY 1110/1120 American History I & II: Find Articles

Finding Articles: A Quick Start Guide

Find Articles: Video Tutorials

Phrase Searching

The key to searching databases is to try out different combinations and variations of search terms.  Not all databases process search input in the same way.  Phrase searching is one technique you can use to refine your search.  To initiate a phrase search, enclose phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses.  This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit instead of a string of keywords.

For example:

"Cold War"

(Cold War)

Getting Started: Suggested Databases

These databases listed here are good starting points for research on American history topics.  For a complete list of databases, click the Databases link located on the CSU Library homepage.


America: History and Life with Full Text

This resource provides peer-reviewed journal articles as well as other documents focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. The database is most valuable for students in American History and American Military history courses.

Academic Search Ultimate

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals. It is a good research option for students in most degree programs and courses.

U.S. History (GALE ONEFILE)

Videos as well as articles from general and peer-reviewed publications are available in this collection of sources on U.S. history topics. This database is suitable for students in American History, American Military History, and Political Science courses.

ACADEMIC ONEFILE

ACADEMIC ONEFILE provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study. Its content will be useful for students in most degree programs and courses.

GENERAL ONEFILE

The GENERAL ONEFILE database provides multi-disciplinary coverage in journals, periodicals and newspapers as well as searchable transcripts for various radio programs and video files. This database is a helpful resource for students in most CSU programs of study and courses.

World History (GALE ONEFILE)

This collection contains both scholarly peer-reviewed sources and trade/professional publications on world history topics. Students enrolled in Western Civilization and other General Education courses related to the social sciences will find this database beneficial.

World Scholar:  Latin American & the Caribbean

This database includes primary and secondary sources from the social sciences related to the countries of South America, Central America, and the Caribbean. Students researching those geographic areas for General Education courses will benefit from searching this database.

Military and Intelligence 

This database includes scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. Students conducting research in courses such as American History, American Military History, and Western Civilization will find this collection beneficial.

War and Terrorism 

Users of this database will have access to resources on global conflict that include trade/professional publications and reports as well as a limited number of peer-reviewed journals. War and Terrorism will be helpful for students in the Homeland Security program of study in addition to those in American Military History courses.

Developing Keywords for Database Searches

Accessing Databases

Accessing the databases listed on this guide require you to first be logged into the myCSU Student Portal.

  • Ensure that you are logged into myCSU
  • Click on the desired database link, which should immediately direct you to the database interface.
  • If you have any questions, contact us 24 hours per day through our live Chat Service

Tech Tips

Having trouble accessing library resources? Refer to the Tech Tips document or contact CSU HelpDesk Support at 877-399-1063 or via chat in your myCSU Student Portal.