Reference materials contain established knowledge in the form of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, bibliographies, almanacs, directories, etc. Students should contact their professor to determine whether the use of encyclopedias is allowed. Also, please view the Wikipedia Statement provided below.
Wikipedia is a site containing content that is collaboratively produced. This collaborative editing may be performed by individuals who may or may not be proficient or learned in the subject on which they are writing. The uncensored and unverified opinions contained in and on the Wikipedia site cannot be used for substantiating hypotheses or conclusions. Wikipedia absolutely cannot be used as a source in bibliographic citations, quotes, scholarly work, or assignments.
Please use the Library databases for acquiring reliable research resources. If the information that you need cannot be acquired from the databases, please contact your CSU library staff for assistance by emailing library@columbiasouthern.edu or by telephoning toll-free to 1.877.268.8046.
A complete guide for Islamic teachings and Islamic way of life
University encyclopedic publication by the Kokugakuin University in Tokyo that outlines the aspects of the Japanese religion Shinto
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Religion
Non-profit, peer-reviewed source for key subjects in all areas of philosophy, produced by experts in the field
Coverage of world mythologies, folklore, and religion
Textual access to writings of the New Testament, Apocrypha, Gnostics, Church Fathers, and other Christian text sources
In the world's major religions and philosophies there exist some well-known leaders. Here are a few of them for consideration:
Buddhism:
the Buddha (Gautama Buddha)
The 14th Dalai Lama (Tenzin Gyatso)
Confucianism:
Confucius
Islam:
Muhammad (Muhammad ibn Abdullāh)
Judaism:
Moses - prophet
Catholicism:
Pope Francis
Christianity (also Protestantism):
Jesus of Nazareth
Martin Luther
Hinduism:
Mātā Amṛtānandamayī Devī (Amma)
New Religious Movements:
Mormonism (LDS):
Joseph Smith, Jr.
Brigham Young
Unification Movement:
Sun Myung Moon
Scientology:
L. Ron Hubbard