Reference sources, such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks, can be great sources in which to find general background information or overviews of topics. Reference sources are considered authoritative, so you can rely on them to provide credible information. These sources often provide facts, timelines, events, major figures, definitions, origins, theories, and more.
You can find reference sources in the library within the eBook Academic Collection. Try searching for the any of the types of reference sources along with your general subject area; for example: handbooks AND business. See How to Find E-books for additional search tips. You may also browse many subject encyclopedias and dictionaries from the library's e-books listed below.
Remember that although you can use reference sources to help you learn more about the background of your subject area, you will not be able to use them as cited references in your academic research reports.
Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising by
At your fingertips--find advertising terms and concepts quickly and easily in this A-Z reference guide! As with many institutions, advertising has developed its own vocabulary. While some terms and concepts may overlap with other areas, many are used in a particular way and have specific meanings in advertising. The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising is a comprehensive yet to-the-point compilation of terms and concepts used in the advertising industry. It provides brief, easy-to-understand definitions and explanations of common advertising terms and covers all major concepts used in the industry. The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising is unique in that it completely covers all terms and examines all aspects of advertising. This book will help bring you up-to-date with current advertising jargon. It is laid out in an easy-to-use alphabetical format, which allows you to easily access and understand the information. For further reference, it also includes a list of advertising experts who have recently written articles or textbooks on advertising. Some of the terms and concepts in the Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising include: advertising appeals evaluation criteria of advertising Internet advertising magazine advertising television advertising advertising campaign management sponsorship marketing and many more! The Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising provides advertisers, marketers, consumers, and businesses a handy reference to the terminology that is used in the advertising industry. Those new to the business or trying to get into the business can use this book to familiarize themselves with terms and concepts they will need to know. Individuals already in the business can use this book as a quick reference tool for terms they are unsure of or have forgotten. It is also useful as a textbook for students of advertising.
Historical Encyclopedia of American Business by
This set addresses the full breadth of American business history. There are overviews on different sectors of the economy, such as agriculture and banking; individual industries such as advertising and electronics; and general topics like business cycles, consumer boycotts, and outsourcing. There are also overviews on general legal topics such as bankruptcy and patent laws.
Crime and Punishment in the U.S. by
A clear examination of the hard topics relating to types of crimes, apprehension and arrest of wrongdoers, criminal trials and types of punishment.
The Criminal Justice System, Second Edition by
The Criminal Justice System, completely updated, covers the most important aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It details the commission and frequency of crimes through the investigation, apprehension, prosecution, and punishment of wrongdoers.
Encyclopedia of Community Policing and Problem Solving by
Community policing, as a philosophy, supports the systematic use of partnerships and problem-solving techniques to proactively address the immediate conditions that give rise to public safety issues, including crime, social disorder, and fear of crime--as opposed to responding to crime after it occurs. Community policing expands the traditional police mandate. It broadens the focus of fighting crime to include solving community problems and forming partnerships with people in the community so average citizens can contribute to the policing process. Originating during police reform efforts of the 1970s, the philosophy of community policing is currently widespread and embraced by many citizens, police administrators, scholars, and local and federal politicians. What sorts of collaborative partnerships have evolved between policing agencies and the individuals and communities they serve? How do police departments engage in systematic examination of identified problems to develop effective responses? How have police departments aligned their organizational structures to best support community partnerships and proactive problem solving? Just how effective have efforts at community policing been? These questions and more are explored within the pages of this new reference work.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Research by
This book presents important research advances in the study of environmental research, as well as grassland biodiversity, agricultural runoff, biodiversity hotspots, estuaries, freshwater ecosystems and conservation of natural resources. Topics discussed herein include sustainable waste management; carbon sequestration in soil; effects of habitat destruction on populations and communities; natural renewable water resources; economics of fisheries; biodiversity of tropical freshwater plankton; and ecosystem functioning of open/closed estuaries.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science Vol1: Ecological Concepts and Environmental Science by
Ecological Concepts and Environmental Science examines various aspects of environmental science including an extensive overview of ecology and related concepts. It includes definitions of influential environmentalists, environmental attitudes, multidisciplinary nature of environmental science environmental impacts on water, air and land environmental disasters and hazards. It also comprises famous environmental disasters formation of the solar system and planet earth. Provides the reader with insights into the development of its history, so as to understand the ecology of earth and environmental science as well as the ecological succession, disturbance and recovery and food webs and trophic relationships.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science Vol2 by
Management of Ecosystems examines various aspects of ecosystemand its management. It includes definitions of ecosystem,characteristics of ecosystem and other related projects. Further,it comprises comparison of ecosystem and ecosystem-basedmanagement ecosystems, biological resources, and ecologicalintegrity. Provides the reader with insights into the developmentof its history, so as to understand the characteristics of ecosystem and develop managementpractices for sustainability of ecosystem.
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management by
The topic of health care management has escalated to one of the most widely discussed and debated topics in the health care industry, MBA programs, and in the field of medicine in general. In the 1980s, the industry was relatively stable and the need for combining business acumen with medicine was less than today. However, as we enter the 21st century, the need for applying business and management skills to the health care industry is stronger than ever.This Encyclopedia covers every topic a medical professional, institutional administrator, or MBA student would need to know about the business of health care.Key Features* Over 600 entries* More than 160 expert contributors from the fields of medicine, public health, business* Tables on medical degrees, medical specialties, medical organizations, health care acronyms, medical legislation* Unites the business and medical worlds, and spans the academic, corporate, and governmental arenasTopics CoveredAccounting and Activity-Based Costing / Economics / Finance / Health Policy / Human Resources / Information Technology / Institutions and Organizations / International Health Care Issues / Legal and Regulatory Issues / Managed Care / Marketing and Customer Value / Operations and Decision Making / Pharmaceuticals and Clinical Trials / Quality / Statistics and Data Mining / Strategy
Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z by
This essential guide for libraries, policy makers, and anyone concerned with health care in America has now been fully updated Readers will find updated information on long term health care spending, abortion, Medicaid and Medicare, health insurance and the uninsured, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and much, much more. New entries reflect important changes in recent years and include the Medicare Modernization Act, abstinence education, electronic health records, health savings accounts, Plan B, the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), and Project BioShield.
Sage Encyclopedia of Terrorism by
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Terrorism, Second Edition, is a thoroughly updated and expanded edition of the original, highly regarded reference work. Nearly 100,000 words of new material has been added, along with fully updated original entries, expanded coverage, and multimedia elements (audio and video clips, links to primary documents and more) accompany the electronic version. New entries will explore the impact of terrorism on economics, public health, religion and even pop culture. Ethical issues such as the role of torture in interrogations, competing notions of security versus liberty, and the debates over FISA legislation and Guantanamo Bay will also be covered. Two dozen entries on significant recent events - such as the London bombings, Chechen attacks on Russian interests, and the rescue of Ingrid Bettancourt - and some 60 additional new entries will restore the work as an up-to-the-minute, natural first-stop for researchers.
The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management by
Now students, instructors, and professionals everywhere can find clear, authoritative, explanations of more than 6,000 key business terms. Prepared by a noted encyclopedist, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management covers a vast range of terminology from all areas of business including management, strategy, finance, human resources, economics, marketing, sales, insurance, and international business. The book explains accounting rules, legal terminology, slang and buzzwords, acronyms, management theories, historical figures, economic concepts, performance metrics, and more-all the crucial ideas that have transformed business practices and management science in the past 25 years. In addition to concise definitions, this indispensable reference includes longer entries for ideas needing more elaborate explanations, as well as a pronunciation guide for difficult words, special sections on usage, and a thesaurus of related words. While quick definitions abound online, The AMA Dictionary of Business and Management supplies the depth and clarity lacking in most "webinitions." And it includes thousands of technical terms omitted from even premier unabridged dictionaries. From Abilene paradox to zero-based budgeting, this is an essential resource for anyone serious about business.
The Dictionary of Public Policy and Administration by
The Dictionary of Public Policy and Administrationoffers definitions of all the key terms, concepts, processes and practices of contemporary public policy and administration. Included are brief biographies of major scholars and influential practitioners, summaries of major rulings by the U.S. Supreme Court, overviews of significant laws, descriptions of important government agencies, and explanations of historical trends and governing doctrines. The Dictionary is designed to be the single most useful tool that a student or practitioner of public administration could have-the book to keep at their side while they are reading other textbooks in the field.
International Dictionary of Public Management and Governance by
This authoritative, up-to-date resource will become the standard reference on the theory and practice of public management around the world. Public management addresses strategy, policy processes, and governance as well as the bureaucratic concerns of public administration. Reflecting this diversity, the Dictionary incorporates concepts from various other fields including economics, political science, management, sociology, and psychology. The reference draws from an extensive literature base including books, journals, websites, research reports, government proceedings, legal documents, and international and organizational reports. As the primary source of ready information for students, researchers, scholars, and practitioners, it defines all the fundamental concepts of public management, their applications, and all relevant theories, complete with sources and references.
Dictionary of Fire Protection Engineering by
A groundbreaking book that contains a broad yet detailed coverage of the major aspects of fire engineering. It has been compiled by a recognized authority on the subject.
Dictionary of Terrorism by
Terrorism is one of the primary concerns of the modern world and is increasingly becoming a major factor in all international relations in the 21st century. This revised and updated second edition of a major reference work in the area contains definitions and descriptions of all aspects of terrorism and political violence, including: * individual terrorists * terrorist organisations * terrorist incidents * countries affected by terrorism * types of terrorism * measures against terrorism * forms of political violence * history of terrorism * psychology of terrorism
Historical Dictionary of Terrorism by
The United States Department of Defense defines terrorism as "the calculated use of unlawful violence or threat of unlawful violence to inculcate fear; intended to coerce or to intimidate governments or societies in the pursuit of goals that are generally political, religious, or ideological." While terrorism has been around for centuries, it was the al Qa'eda attacks of September 11, 2001, that brought home to the world, and most particularly the United States, just how dangerous terrorism can be. The third edition of the Historical Dictionary of Terrorism presents the full spectrum of forms of political violence through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on major terrorist groups and their leaders, significant terrorist events, cyber-terrorism, counterterrorism, and social science concepts regarding the motivations and group dynamics of terrorist groups. Authors Sean K. Anderson and Stephen Sloan move beyond the gut reaction we have to this volatile and divisive topic by providing a reliable and objective reference on terrorism.
The CSU librarians can support you during the research process with personalized reference services. We are happy to help you with the following tasks: