Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

MBAV 6151 Operations Research: Find Company & Industry Info

Suggested Databases

Start here!

Industry Research

IBISWorld

The IBISWorld database provides thoroughly researched, accurate, and current industry reports.


Company Research

Mergent Online

Mergent Online offers detailed company information, including financials, descriptions, history, property, subsidiaries, officers, and directors.

Nexis Uni

The Nexis Uni database contains detailed business profiles for many U. S. and international companies.  To search for a company profile in Nexis Uni, click on "Business" beneath "Discover topics" at the bottom on the search screen, then click on "Find a Company" in the "Company Dossier" section.

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate contains company profiles for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.  Click on "Company Information" at the top of the Business Source Ultimate search screen to search for a company.

Where can I find SWOT analyses?

You can find SWOT analyses in the following databases:

Business Source Ultimate

Search for your company and SWOT

Business Insights:  Global

Click on "Companies," then "SWOT Reports" and search for your company name in the results

Nexis Uni

Under Discover topics, click on "Business" and then "Find a Company" in the Company Dossier.  Search for your company by name, then click on "Industry Knowledge" and "Company SWOT Analysis" in the left column

Ask a Librarian!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Can I search for industry information by NAICS Code?

Yes, you can search by NAICS Code in most of the library's business databases.

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) can be used in industry research as it is "the standard used by Federal statistics agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical database related to the U.S. Business Economy."*  The NAICS replaced the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC).   

To identify industry codes to use in your searches, visit the Industry Statistics Portal.  

*Source NAICS