Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Course Creation/Revision Guide: Introduction

This guide is designed to assist course writers and instructional designers with navigating the library and utilizing library resources.

About the CSU Library

The CSU Library is designed to provide students and faculty with a variety of research options, all chosen to support the programs of study at Columbia Southern University.

CSU Library Collection Development Policy

Introduction

Welcome,

Course Writers and Instructional Designers!

This guide is designed to support you as you develop research assignments for students.

Sections include:

  • Information Literacy - defines information literacy and includes the CSU Library's "Statement on Information Literacy" as well as information literacy standards
  • Databases - provides information regarding the databases to which the library subscribes, including search and retrieval techniques and guides to help you embed library resources in courses
  • Library Resources - links to a separate research guide which presents key library resources arranged by college
  • Instructional Resources - features library-related instructional resources that may be linked or embedded in course materials
  • CSU/Waldorf Resource List - links to a list of resources found in CSU and Waldorf Libraries
  • Copyright - includes the CSU Copyright Policy and Copyright FAQs
  • APA Style - contains resources on APA formatting and other writing components from the CSU Success Center

Email and Telephone Assistance is Available:

Monday - Thursday: 8:00 am - 7:00 pm CST
Friday: 8:00 am - 6:00 pm CST


CSU Librarians

Meet our helpful Library Staff!

Mission

The mission of the Columbia Southern University Library is to provide resources and services to the University learning community in order to promote teaching and learning. In alignment with the educationalmission of CSU, the Library contributes to the needs of the University and the academic success of our students while developing capable users of 21stcentury information.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Recommend A Resource: 

Report A Broken Link:

Accessibility Statement: 

The CSU Online Library provides resources for the use of all CSU students, including those with disabilities, in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Acts (ADA). Students are encouraged to contact the library as needed for assistance in using the library website or the library’s electronic resources, including the e-book library and databases, and to contact the Office of Disability Services for assistance with reasonable educational accommodations or assistive technology.

 

If services are needed beyond those offered by the library, or if there are additional accessibility questions, concerns, or suggestions, please contact the Office of Disability Services at disabilityservices@columbiasouthern.edu or (888) 785-3005. Instructions for requesting educational accommodations are available in the CSU Student Portal at the following link: https://mycsu.columbiasouthern.edu/student/support-services/ods/

 

In addition, links to screen reader (text-to-speech) and speech-to-text software resources are provided on the following CSU Student Portal webpage: https://mycsu.columbiasouthern.edu/student/support-services/ods/assistive-technology/

 

 

The Writing Center provides assistance with writing for students that will aid in their success throughout their academic careers.

Contact us at 877-875-0533 or teamsucceed@columbiasouthern.edu

For APA examples the Writing Center has created, please click HERE.