CSU Library Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Need help? Check out our most popular Frequently Asked Questions below.

You can also explore additional topics by clicking through the tabs on the left.

Q: Where can I find articles in the library?

A: On the main library page, utilize the Knight Search box for searching your keywords, or click the Databases button and choose a database title from the list that appears. You can also contact a CSU librarian for a database recommendation. Check out our Finding Articles Quick Start Guide or click here for a short video on how to find articles.

Q: How do I search for peer-reviewed or scholarly articles?

A: Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles can be found in most of our online databases. Once inside a database, look for a box to check labeled "scholarly" or "peer reviewed." For more information, click here for a short video on how to find peer-reviewed articles.

Q: How do I choose the right database for my topic?

A: For information about the topics covered by the individual databases, click A-Z Databases and review the brief descriptions found below the database titles or contact a CSU librarian for a database recommendation.

Q: I have an article title/citation. How do I search for it in the library databases?

A: In the Knight Search on the library home page, type part or all of the article title inside quotation marks in the keyword search box. On the next screen, look for the “Supplemental Sources” section in the left column, click it, and choose the “ProQuest Searching” button. In the search box on the next page, type part or all of the article title in quotation marks. Check out the How to Conduct Title Searches video tutorial for further assistance.

Q: I found an article cited through an AI tool, but I cannot find the article in the library or online. What do I do?

A: AI tools often make up citations for articles and other sources to support their content. This may be the case for the article you are seeking. We would suggest placing the entire citation in Google, Bing, or another internet search engine and searching for it there. If the citation does not appear anywhere in the results, then the article probably does not exist.

Q: Can I access the NFPA codes through the CSU Library?

A: You can find the NFPA Codes & Standards in the library through the E-Journals button on the library homepage. For more information and a brief tutorial, click here.

Q: Does the library carry access to the ANSI Standards?

A: The CSU Library does not carry paid access to the ANSI Standards. We do, however, have access to the NFPA Codes and Standards, through the E-Journals button on the library homepage.

Q: My course has an e-textbook. Where can I find it in the CSU Library?

A: The CSU Library does not carry access to course e-textbooks. Your e-textbook will be linked to your course within Blackboard. You will find a link to your e-textbook under the Content area in the middle of your course page. For assistance with e-textbook technical issues, please contact the Blackboard Tech Support team at  techsupport@columbiasouthern.edu  or (877) 399-1063. Note: access to a course e-textbook will be available on the course start date, but not before.

Q: What is the correct format for APA citations?

A: The CSU Library is not equipped to assist with APA questions. For information on APA formatting and citations, please visit the "Learning Resources" tab on the Writing Center's website. The Writing Center is part of the CSU Success Center and exists to support students through writing advice at all stages of the writing process and through APA formatting assistance.

Q: Can the library help with SafeAssign?

A: The CSU Library is not equipped to assist with SafeAssign questions. The SafeAssign Originality Checker tool is found on the Institution Page inside Blackboard. Log into your Blackboard and look for the Institution Page on the upper leftside of the page. For more information about SafeAssign, please take a look at this page from the Writing Center. For more information, please contact the CSU Writing Center by email at teamsucceed@columbiasouthern.edu  or by calling (877) 875-0533.

Was this guide helpful?