Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Instructional Design and Technology: Find Articles

EDS

Start Your Research Here

 

 

 

Suggested Databases

Academic OneFile 

This database provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study. Its content will be useful for students in most degree programs and courses.

Academic Search Ultimate 

Academic Search Ultimate includes a wide variety of resources and peer-reviewed journal articles from disciplines ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, law, and literacy to mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology, and more.

ERIC 

The largest education database in the world, ERIC includes citations for journal articles, books, research papers, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, dissertations, theses, and other materials in the field of education. A majority of the journals are peer-reviewed.

‚ÄčFor a complete list of databases and their descriptions, click the Databases link located on the CSU Library homepage.

How can I find a specific journal in the CSU Library?

In order to search for specific journals or other publications in the library, use the Publication Finder, which is also located within the E-Journals box on the library homepage.

What are peer-reviewed articles?

Peer-reviewed articles, sometimes called scholarly or academic articles, are research studies or critical overviews of industry topics that are written by subject experts and reviewed by other experts in the field before publication in order to ensure the articles' quality.

Written by scholars + reviewed by scholars = peer-reviewed.

See this guide for more information about identifying peer-reviewed articles and how to find them in the CSU Library.

Ask a Librarian!

JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

What is the best way to search the library databases?

The best way to search the library databases is to try out different combinations of key words/short phrases.  Phrase searching is one technique you can use to refine your search.  To phrase search, place phrases inside quotation marks or parentheses.  This tells the database to search the phrase as a unit instead of a string of keywords.

Example:

"safety management"

(safety management)