Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
- Reports research based on experience, observation or experiment
- Tests a hypothesis against real data
- May use quantitative research methods that generate numerical data to establish causal relationships between variables
- May use qualitative research methods that analyze behaviors, beliefs, feelings, or values
College of Business Undergraduate Guides
College of Business Graduate Guides
Doctoral Research Guides:
For empirical research studies, especially targeting Business topics, you could explore the database options below.
In each database, select the box for Peer Reviewed or Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals to help filter the results to the type of publication that would have empirical research.
Business Source Complete
Offering a comprehensive full-text coverage plus indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals, dating back as far as 1886.
2,700 scholarly business journals and thousands of worldwide business periodicals.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly full-text peer-reviewed academic journals plus thousands of periodicals, trade publications and magazines supporting all subjects and programs.
Sample Search Strategy
In the databases you can search phrases in quotation marks like "qualitative research", "qualitative research", "empirical research", etc.
If for example you are seeking qualitative research studies in business, you could try searching in the Business Source Ultimate database for: "empirical research" AND business. The peer reviewed box would need to be selected to filter the results to review only the peer reviewed scholarly/academic journals.
For healthcare related topics you could try these databases:
This database delivers core public health literature from over 8,000 publications. With journals, dissertations, videos, news, trade publications, reports, and more.
Health and Medical Collection
This resource offers users vital clinical, biomedical, and health journals.
As you move through your research, if you have questions on selecting a topic or verification of a source, please feel free to connect with the course professor. The course professor is the resource for clarification of course content and assignment expectations.