Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources by College: History

This faculty guide features key library resources arranged by college.

Questions?

Profile Photo
Manda Lueders
Contact:
21982 University Lane
Orange Beach, AL 36561
1.877.268.8046

Research Guides

The following guides offer suggestions for finding articles, e-books, and websites for student research.

Library Resource Lists

See the following documents for a list of the library's full-text history resources by database.

Library Tutorials

These tutorials can be linked in course materials to assist students with their research.

Key Databases

General Databases

The General OneFile database provides multi-disciplinary coverage in journals, periodicals and newspapers as well as searchable transcripts for various radio programs and video files.

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study.

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals.


Subject-Specific Databases

This resource provides peer-reviewed journal articles as well as other documents focusing on the history and life of the United States and Canada. 

This database contains core journals in arts, sciences, and the humanities, with more than 100 titles in 15 disciplines.

This database contains multiple formats of information sources on U.S. history topics, including video, reference works, peer-reviewed journals, and other types of periodicals.

Videos as well as articles from general and peer-reviewed publications are available in this collection of sources on U.S. history topics. 

World History in Context offers a variety of resources on world history topics. Most of the content is created for a general audience, but some scholarly peer-reviewed articles are included.

This collection contains both scholarly peer-reviewed sources and trade/professional publications on world history topics.

Users of this database will have access to resources on global conflict that include trade/professional publications and reports as well as a limited number of peer-reviewed journals.

This database contains full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches or the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

Videos

Films on Demand houses a collection of streaming video titles from both academic and mainstream producers such as films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History Channel, BBC, National Geographic, and others.

The best part about Films on Demand?  You can embed videos from Films on Demand in your courses without worrying about copyright restrictions.

For instructions on embedding Films on Demand videos in courses and creating custom video segments in Films on Demand, please see the following guides: