Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources by College: Fire Science

This faculty guide features key library resources arranged by college.

Questions?

Profile Photo
Ashley Harris
Contact:
21982 University Lane
Orange Beach, AL 36561
1.877.268.8046

Research Guides

The following guide offers suggestions for finding articles, e-books, and websites for student research.

Library Resource Lists

See the following document for a list of the library's full-text fire science resources by database.

Library Tutorials

Key Databases

This full-text database provides definitive intelligence resources for security and threat analysis. It covers regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management.

This database contains business-related publications including scholarly journals providing peer-reviewed articles.

This database covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery. 

Business Source Ultimate offers a comprehensive scope of sources such as peer-reviewed journals, trade/professional publications, and company reports.

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals.

Journals

The journals listed here have been purchased individually and may not be available within the library databases.

Fire Safety Journal is the leading publication dealing with all aspects of fire safety engineering.

The Journal of Fire Sciences is a leading, peer-reviewed international journal for the reporting of new and significant fundamental and applied research within the fire safety science community. Its overall content is generally aimed toward the prevention and mitigation of the adverse effects of fires involving combustible materials.

The NFPA Journal covers major topics in fire protection and suppression, investigation reports, annual studies on large-loss and multiple-death fires, firefighter deaths and injuries

Videos

Films on Demand houses a collection of streaming video titles from both academic and mainstream producers such as films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History Channel, BBC, National Geographic, and others.

The best part about Films on Demand?  You can embed videos from Films on Demand in your courses without worrying about copyright restrictions.

For instructions on embedding Films on Demand videos in courses and creating custom video segments in Films on Demand, please see the following guides: