Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources by College: Sociology

This faculty guide features key library resources arranged by college.

Questions?

Profile Photo
Manda Lueders
Contact:
21982 University Lane
Orange Beach, AL 36561
1.877.268.8046

Research Guides

The following guide offers suggestions for finding articles, e-books, and websites for student research.

Library Resource Lists

See the following document for a list of the library's full-text sociology resources by database.

Library Tutorials

These tutorials can be linked in course materials to assist students with their research.

Key Databases

General Databases

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals.

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study.


Subject-Specific Databases

This collection provides access to scientific and scholarly peer-reviewed articles written by esteemed researchers from across psychology and the behavioral and social sciences.

This database contains business-related publications including scholarly journals providing peer-reviewed articles. 

The Criminal Justice database supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, and its legal and social implications.

The Criminal Justice Collection brings together journals that cover a variety of topics including law enforcement, terrorism, homeland security, and forensic science. 

This database offers academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. 

Videos

Films on Demand houses a collection of streaming video titles from both academic and mainstream producers such as films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History Channel, BBC, National Geographic, and others.

The best part about Films on Demand?  You can embed videos from Films on Demand in your courses without worrying about copyright restrictions.

For instructions on embedding Films on Demand videos in courses and creating custom video segments in Films on Demand, please see the following guides: