Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources by College: Homeland Security

This faculty guide features key library resources arranged by college.

Questions?

Profile Photo
Ashley Harris
Contact:
21982 University Lane
Orange Beach, AL 36561
1.877.268.8046

Research Guides

The following guide offers suggestions for finding articles, e-books, and websites for student research.

Library Resource Lists

See the following document for a list of the library's full-text homeland security resources by database.

Key Databases

This full-text database provides definitive intelligence resources for security and threat analysis. It covers regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management.

Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history. At completion, this collection will include 175 hours of videos and 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches). It is organized around more than forty events and areas and includes a wide array of themes such as terrorism and counterterrorism, insurgency and counterinsurgency, cybersecurity, ethnic conflicts and resolution, and nuclear threats.

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

The Criminal Justice (ProQuest) database supports research on crime, its causes and impacts, and its legal and social implications. The sources in this database include peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, and other types of publications.

Users of this database will have access to resources on global conflict that include trade/professional publications and reports as well as a limited number of peer-reviewed journals.

This database includes scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs.

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study.

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals.

Nexis Uni offers a wide range of information for legal research, including news content, federal and state cases and statutes, U. S. Supreme Court decisions, and business profiles for many U. S. and international companies.

The Political Science database covers political science and international relations and hundreds of related topics.

This database contains full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches or the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.

Videos

Films on Demand houses a collection of streaming video titles from both academic and mainstream producers such as films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History Channel, BBC, National Geographic, and others.

The best part about Films on Demand?  You can embed videos from Films on Demand in your courses without worrying about copyright restrictions.

For instructions on embedding Films on Demand videos in courses and creating custom video segments in Films on Demand, please see the following guides: