Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources by College: Math & Science

This faculty guide features key library resources arranged by college.

Questions?

Profile Photo
Manda Lueders
Contact:
21982 University Lane
Orange Beach, AL 36561
1.877.268.8046

Research Guides

The following guides offer suggestions for finding articles, e-books, and websites for student research.

Library Resource Lists

See the following documents for a list of the library's full-text math & science resources by database.

Library Tutorials

These tutorials can be linked in course materials to assist students with their research.

Key Databases

General Databases

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study. 

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals. 


Subject-Specific Databases

This database contains business-related publications including scholarly journals providing peer-reviewed articles; this database also contains information on math-related topics.

Business Source Ultimate offers a comprehensive scope of sources such as peer-reviewed journals, trade/professional publications, and company reports as well as over 40 math-related journals.

This database contains multiple formats of information sources on science topics, including video, reference works, peer-reviewed journals, and other types of periodicals.

Environmental Studies provides an academic approach to environmental topics by combining news, case studies, unique commentary, audio, video, primary source documents, images, reports, and statistics into a user-friendly platform.

GreenFILE focuses on the relationship between human beings and the environment and covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology.

This database contains scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies, and it includes diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental policymakers, and corporate interests.

The Health and Medical Collection is a comprehensive medical information resource that offers researchers vital clinical, biomedical, and health information from full-text scholarly journals, medical reference ebooks, videos dissertations, and working papers.

Thousands of full-text medical journals, periodicals, reference works, multimedia, and much more. This consumer health resource provides authoritative information on the full range of health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

Videos

Films on Demand houses a collection of streaming video titles from both academic and mainstream producers such as films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History Channel, BBC, National Geographic, and others.

The best part about Films on Demand?  You can embed videos from Films on Demand in your courses without worrying about copyright restrictions.

For instructions on embedding Films on Demand videos in courses and creating custom video segments in Films on Demand, please see the following guides: