Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Resources by College: Emergency Services Management

This faculty guide features key library resources arranged by college.

Questions?

Profile Photo
Laura Rhoden
Contact:
21982 University Lane
Orange Beach, AL 36561
1.877.268.8046

Research Guides

The following guide offers suggestions for finding articles, e-books, and websites for student research.

Library Resource Lists

See the following document for a list of the library's full-text emergency services management resources by database.

Library Tutorials

The following tutorial can be linked in course materials to assist students with their research.

Key Databases

This database covers all aspects of business continuity and disaster recovery. 

This database contains business-related publications including scholarly journals providing peer-reviewed articles. 

This full-text database provides definitive intelligence resources for security and threat analysis. It covers regional conflict, terrorism, domestic security, and risk management.

This extensive database includes materials on most academic disciplines, and thousands of the publications are peer-reviewed journals.

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed journals plus trade/professional publications, magazines, and other information sources that support a broad range of subjects and programs of study. 

Journals

The journals listed here have been purchased individually and may not be available within the library databases.

Disaster Prevention and Management publishes high-quality research which advances knowledge and practice in the field of disaster risk reduction and management.

Disasters is a major, peer-reviewed, quarterly journal reporting on all aspects of disaster studies, policy and management. 

The Journal of Emergency Management is edited, written and peer reviewed by a nationally recognized team of the country's foremost, hands-on EM experts. They include top professionals from the public and private sectors who offer real world experience and practical solutions, and leading academics who provide perspective and analysis on the latest research and studies. Together, they bring you the most thorough, relevant and useful source of information on emergency management.

The purpose of Risk, Hazards, & Crisis in Public Policy (RHCPP) is to provide a forum for research and commentary that examines societies’ understanding of and measures to address risk, hazards, and crises, how public policies do and should address these concerns, and to what effect. 

Videos

Films on Demand houses a collection of streaming video titles from both academic and mainstream producers such as films for the Humanities and Sciences, PBS, A&E, History Channel, BBC, National Geographic, and others.

The best part about Films on Demand?  You can embed videos from Films on Demand in your courses without worrying about copyright restrictions.

For instructions on embedding Films on Demand videos in courses and creating custom video segments in Films on Demand, please see the following guides: